Hardin County |
Your Government |
| Weapons Permits
Permits to carry a weapon are handled in the Records Division of the Sheriff's Office at the Law Enforcement Center.
Law Enforcement Center
1116 14th Avenue
Eldora, IA 50627
In order to apply for a permit to carry a weapon (professional or nonprofessional), applicants must:
Applicants must show proof that they have met the requirements set forth in Iowa
Code Chapter 724 before receiving a permit. To summarize this code:
A person must be 21 years of age or older to obtain a Nonprofessional Permit to Carry Weapons, and 18 years
of age or older to obtain a Professional Permit to Carry Weapons.
When a person applies for a Permit to Carry, Hardin County will run a NICS check to determine if the
applicant is eligible for a Permit to Carry. The applicant must also complete an application that asks
questions pertaining to eligibility.
Falsification of an application is a criminal offense that could result in prosecution, so an applicant
should take great care in completing the application.
The Iowa Department of Public Safety Administrative Services Division has a list of Permit to Carry - Frequently Asked Questions (PDF) that may be
Additional rules and requirements about the Nonprofessional Permit to Carry Weapons can be found on the Iowa Department of Public Safety Weapons Permit webpage.
Legal Advice Disclaimer
The Hardin County Sheriff's Office and the Iowa Department of Public Safety (DPS) is not qualified or
authorized to provide legal advice. Any person seeking legal advice should consult with an attorney licensed
to practice law in Iowa. The Frequently Asked Questions document only reflects the Iowa DPS understanding of
common issues and questions related to weapons permits in the administrative role relating to weapons
Circumstances that result in ineligibility for a Permit to Carry include:
View All FAQ