Hardin County |
Your Government |
Finance & Collections
| Driver's License Reinstatement
If you have past due fines, you may have had your driver’s license suspended.
Normally, the fines must be paid in full before you can get your driver’s license back. A County Attorney Pay Plan (CAPP) may allow you to reinstate your driver’s license while at the same time consolidating payments on all of your unpaid fines and Department of Transportation (DOT) civil penalties.
After contacting the Finance and Collections Office to arrange a payment plan, you may be eligible to have your drivers’ license reinstated.
You must be enrolled and participating in a payment plan before this process can begin. This office can offer assistance in obtaining a Temporary Restricted License (work permit) as well.
Payment Plan Options
What fine amounts are included in a County Attorney Pay Plan (CAPP)?
We can include the Civil Penalty amount into the payment plan.
This amount will be paid first and then the payments will be paid towards the fines that are suspending your driver’s license.
Yes. If you do not own a car or you are choosing not to drive, you will need to obtain a non-owner/driver policy.
If you are required by the Iowa Department of Transportation to have high risk insurance (SR22), we must have proof of that policy as well.
It may take up to two weeks before the Iowa Department of Transportation (DOT) will notify you that you can get your driver’s license.
Once the CAPP is filed with the Clerk of Court and the plan is set up, they will notify the Iowa DOT. The Iowa DOT will then notify you via U.S. postal service.
It is imperative that the Iowa DOT has your current and correct address.
Once you sign the payment agreement, you are required to make your monthly payments. If you do not, the Finance and Collections Office may file a payment plan default and you will then lose your driver’s license again.
The Finance and Collections Office requires 10% of the total fines (including civil penalty, if necessary) that are suspending your driver’s license, as well as a $50 down payment to start the program.
Once this payment has been received, the CAPP will be filed with the Clerk of Court. The Finance and Collections Office will then require $50 per month minimum payments until the fines are paid in full.
Law Enforcement Center, 1116 14th AvenueEldora, IA 50627
Monday - Friday
08:00 AM - 04:00 PM
Finance and Collections Supervisor
Phone : (641) 939-8207
Phone : (641) 939-8189
Civil Division Directory
E911 Communication Directory
Finance and Collections Directory
Additional Contact Information
Toll Free: 800-568-4373
After Hours Fax: 641-939-8209
Emergency Phone: : 911