Hardin County |
Your Government |
| Accident Reports
An accident occurring anywhere within the State of Iowa causing death, personal injury, or total property damage of $1,500 or more must be reported on an Iowa Accident Report (PDF).
If an accident is investigated by the Hardin County Sheriff’s Office, such a report is not required as the Sheriff’s Office will submit the information.
Failure to return an accident report form within 72 hours may result in suspension of your driving privileges. Note: you must attempt to completely fill out this report.
You may obtain a copy of the Iowa Accident Report form online (PDF), or physically at:
Every driver involved in an accident resulting in damages to any one person's property is excess of $1,500 must file an accident report with the Department of Motor Vehicles in the State of Iowa.
Iowa law states these reports be files within 72 hours of the accident, not including weekends or holidays.
If you are unable to file within the 72 hours, submit it as soon as possible.
Failure to report the accident may result in suspension of your driving privileges.
Yes, you are still required to fill out an accident report with Hardin County.
If you know the other driver's information, it will help the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) to match reports more efficiently.
You do not need to be concerned if you do not have the information, as the other driver should file an accident form with the DMV as well.
If Hardin County responded to the accident, then the DMV will also receive a copy of the report from the Hardin County Sheriff's Office.
Law Enforcement Center, 1116 14th AvenueEldora, IA 50627
Monday - Friday
08:00 AM - 04:00 PM
Phone : (641) 939-8191
Phone : (641) 939-8189
Civil Division Directory
E911 Communication Directory
Finance and Collections Directory
Additional Contact Information
Toll Free: 800-568-4373
After Hours Fax: 641-939-8209
Emergency Phone: : 911