RENEWALS: I have a Permit to Carry Weapons that will be expiring soon. What do I need to do to renew the permit?
Effective July 1, 2017, there is a 60 day renewal window. A person wishing to renew a Permit to Carry Weapons must apply within 30 days before the permit expires, or within 30 days after the permit expires, otherwise the higher NEW permit fee must be charged. Please note that while a permit can be renewed within 30 days after it expires, a person whose permit has expired should not go armed in a fashion that requires a permit until a person has renewed their permit.

Show All Answers

1. LAW CHANGES: I have heard that there are changes to Iowa weapons permit laws occurring in 2017. What are the topics of the law changes?
2. EFFECTIVE DATES: When do the 2017 changes in Iowa law regarding weapons permits take effect?
3. IMMEDIATE EFFECTIVE DATES: Which are the two law changes that have an effective date of April 13, 2017?
4. UNIFORM PERMIT CARDS: What is the "uniform permit card" provision of HF 517?
5. PERMIT CARD AVAILABILITY: When will the new cards be available?
6. CURRENT: I have a weapons permit (carry or acquire) issued before the law changes take effect, or before the law changes are fully implemented – do I have to get a new permit card when they are ready?
7. DUPLICATES: I lost my permit, my permit was damaged, or I have an older style of permit. Can I obtain a duplicate of a current permit, but printed on the new uniform wallet size card?
8. DL/ID RECORDS: Instead of developing new uniform permit cards, and all the systems necessary to print the cards, could the information simply be added to my driver’s license or non-operator ID file?
9. APPLICATION PROCESS: How do I apply for a new, renewal, or duplicate Nonprofessional Permit to Carry Weapons?
10. RENEWALS: I have a Permit to Carry Weapons that will be expiring soon. What do I need to do to renew the permit?
11. TRAINING FOR RENEWALS: Do I need to complete another training course to renew my Permit to Carry Weapons?
12. MOVE WITHIN IOWA: I have moved since my permit was issued or will be moving soon. Am I required to notify anyone of the change of address and am I required to obtain an permit showing my new address?
13. TEXT OF NEW LAWS: I want to read the new law and understand the many different provisions of this law. How can I get a copy of the law and where can I learn more about the law?