Friends of Calkins

The Friends of Calkins Nature Area is a nonprofit organization that is in place to assist the Hardin County Conservation staff in making Calkins the best it can be. Friend's members are instrumental to us being able to continuously improve the grounds and provide better educational experiences for all who visit. The two key ways that the Friends of Calkins contribute to the mission is in project fundraising and being a source of volunteers for public programming.

For more information on the Friends of Calkins Nature Area check out the Calkins Nature Area Facebook page.

Board of Directors

The Friends group is led by a 16-member board of directors which meets once a month. The board also plans the annual BBQ and Bluegrass Fundraiser. Memberships are available at various levels and also come with a free subscription to the Hardin County Conservation newsletter and an invitation to the annual meeting and dinner.

To become a member, download the membership form (PDF).

Executive Committee

The Friends of Calkins Nature Area

  • Chris Stauffer, President
  • Becky Wubbena, Vice President
  • Alice Draper, Secretary
  • Mike Holt, Treasurer

Area Directors

  • Ali Campbell
  • Alice Draper
  • Jon Heitland
  • Don Hirt
  • Darlene Hulbert
  • Sara Kadolph
  • Curt Lambertson
  • Dean Lewerke
  • Nan Schwartz
  • Jerry Welden