Weapons Permits

Permits to carry a weapon are handled in the Records Division of the Sheriff's Office at the Law Enforcement Center. 

  1. Mindy Gehrke

    Civil Administrator
    Phone: 641-939-8191

  1. Sheriff's Office

    Physical Address
    Law Enforcement Center
    1116 14th Avenue
    Eldora, IA 50627

  1. Requirements & Process
  2. Disqualifiers
  3. Applications

Basic Requirements

In order to apply for a permit to carry a weapon (professional or nonprofessional), applicants must:

Iowa Code Requirements

Applicants must show proof that they have met the requirements set forth in Iowa Code Chapter 724 before receiving a permit. To summarize this code:
  • Applicants must show proper identification.
  • Applicants must apply for a permit to the sheriff of the county in which the applicant resides.
  • Applicant must have completed required training.
  • Applicant will pay the required fee at time of application. Cash or check required; there is no electronic payment capability for weapons permits. Checks should be made payable to Hardin County Sheriff's Office on the day you apply for the permit. Fee amounts are:
    • $50 for 5 year Permit to Carry
    • $25 for renewals or duplicates
    • $50 for 5 year Permits to Acquire

Eligibility & Process

A person must be 21 years of age or older to obtain a Nonprofessional Permit to Carry Weapons, and 18 years of age or older to obtain a Professional Permit to Carry Weapons.

When a person applies for a Permit to Carry, Hardin County will run a NICS check to determine if the applicant is eligible for a Permit to Carry. The applicant must also complete an application that asks questions pertaining to eligibility.

Falsification of an application is a criminal offense that could result in prosecution, so an applicant should take great care in completing the application.

Iowa Permit to Carry Weapons - Frequently Asked Questions

The Iowa Department of Public Safety Administrative Services Division has a list of Permit to Carry - Frequently Asked Questions (PDF) that may be helpful.

For More Information

Additional rules and requirements about the Nonprofessional Permit to Carry Weapons can be found on the Iowa Department of Public Safety Weapons Permit webpage.

Legal Advice Disclaimer
The Hardin County Sheriff's Office and the Iowa Department of Public Safety (DPS) is not qualified or authorized to provide legal advice. Any person seeking legal advice should consult with an attorney licensed to practice law in Iowa. The Frequently Asked Questions document only reflects the Iowa DPS understanding of common issues and questions related to weapons permits in the administrative role relating to weapons permits.