How soon do I need to file the Department of Motor Vehicles accident form?
Iowa law states these reports be files within 72 hours of the accident, not including weekends or holidays.

If you are unable to file within the 72 hours, submit it as soon as possible.

Failure to report the accident may result in suspension of your driving privileges.

Show All Answers

1. When do I need to fill out a Department of Motor Vehicles accident form?
2. How soon do I need to file the Department of Motor Vehicles accident form?
3. Do I need to file a Department of Motor Vehicles accident report if I reside out of the State of Iowa?
4. Do I need to fill in the other driver's information on the form?