Noxious Weed Control

Noxious Weeds

The state of Iowa lists the following weeds as noxious. They are to be treated and removed from all lands in Hardin County.
  • Buckhorn Plaintain
  • Buckthorn
  • Bull Thistle
  • Canada Thistle
  • Cocklebur
  • Curly Dock
  • Field Bindweed
  • Hoary Cress
  • Leafy Spurge
  • Muck Thistle
  • Multiflora Rose
  • Norse Nettle
  • Perennial Snow Thistle
  • Poison Hemlock
  • Puncture Vine
  • Purple Loosestrife
  • Quack Grass
  • Red Sorrel
  • Russian Knapweed
  • Shattercane
  • Smooth Dock
  • Tall Thistle
  • Teasel
  • Velvetleaf
  • Wild Carrot
  • Wild Mustard
  • Wild Sunflower


Hardin County spray crews cover the entire county each year spot-spraying noxious weeds and other specified annual weeds. The goal of the IRVM program is to reduce herbicide use and maintenance costs by spraying effectively and efficiently.
Spray Truck Front